One of the mandates of the Radiological Society of South Africa (RSSA) is to bring world leaders in imaging to South Africa.
Continuing this tradition, we are delighted to welcome you to the first joint meeting of the RSSA’s Neuroradiology subgroup, the South African Society of Neuro Imaging (SASNI), the American Society of Neuroradiology (ASNR) and the European Society of Neuroradiology (ESNR).

Diagnostic Radiologists in South Africa are the fortunate beneficiaries of the generous participation and financial support which make conferences such as this possible. Special thanks go to Professor Walter Kucharczyk who, in his capacity as Chair of the ASNR International Collaboration Committee, initiated the ASNR Symposia series. The spontaneous and enthusiastic support from the ESNR President , Dr Alex Rovira, for the joint venture is gratefully acknowledged.

The result of more than two years of collaborative planning by members of all three societies, the program reflects cutting edge themes and strategies in advanced Neuro-imaging.
The result is a well- balanced combination of practical review and state-of the art and will, we believe, find an audience in a wide range of specialities including radiologists and radiographers, neurosurgeons, neurologists, psychiatrists, ENT surgeons, ophthalmologists and neuro-oncologists.

In order to reach the widest audience both within SA and outside its borders the RSSA is introducing for the first time Virtual Conference including Live Streaming and Post Congress Viewing with CME accreditation.

The international faculty comprises eight distinguished radiologists from Europe and the US:

ESNR Faculty
  1. Prof Alex Rovira: ESNR President: Barcelona, Spain,
  2. Prof Paul Parizel: Antwerp, Belgium: Senior ESNR member and past president ESR
  3. Prof Pia Maly Sundgren: Malmo, Sweden: ESNR Chairperson of the Sub-speciality Committee Pediatric Neuroradiology
ASNR Faculty
  1. Prof.William Dillon: University of San Francisco, California (UCSF)
  2. Dr Lubdha Shah: University of Utah, Salt Lake City, USA
  3. Dr Achala Vagal: University of Cincinnati, USA
  4. Dr Chip Truwit: University of Minneapolis, USA
  5. Dr Bruno Policeni: University Iowa, Iowa City, USA

Highlights of the Symposium will be The Intercontinental Grand Challenge and a sponsored Breakfast Session on Artificial Intelligence by Professor Paul Parizel, the New Age of acute stroke management, the mysteries of CSF flow related disorders and new developments in Multiple Sclerosis and Neuro-degenerative conditions. We plan to involve South African Neuroradiologists and especially ESNR Neuroradiology Diplomates (EDiNR) in the programme.

The 11th RSSA Travel Award will take place with two travel awards, one of R50000 for the best oral presentation and another of R15000 for the best poster presentation by a South African junior radiologist or registrar and RSSA member.

We gratefully acknowledge the support of all our sponsors whose commitment to Radiology teaching and training is appreciated and indispensable. Thank you very much.

On behalf of the RSSA and SASNI, we look forward to welcoming you to this very special meeting in the tranquil setting of Spier Estate, Stellenbosch, Cape Town.

LVRProf Leon J van Rensburg
Congress Director: RSSA
Prof Sally Candy
Chair: SASNI